Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

District & Borough Councils

There are five district and borough councils in Warwickshire. They are North Warwickshire Borough Council, Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council, Rugby Borough Council, Stratford District Council and Warwick District Council. Generally, the County Council is responsible for the more strategic functions and services such as education and social care, whereas the district and boroughs provide more local services.

County Council responsibilities include:

  • Birth, marriage and death registration
  • Education
  • Fire and Rescue and public safety
  • Highways and transport
  • Libraries
  • Social care
  • Trading standards
  • Waste management

District and borough council responsibilities include:

  • Collection of council tax
  • Environmental health
  • Housing
  • Leisure centres
  • Local plans and planning applications
  • Roadside waste collection
  • Electoral registration office.
Update cookies preferences